Name of the Department: **Physics**

About the Department:

The Physics Department at Alipurduar University, founded in 2020, currently comprises six faculty members, including SACT, and four non-teaching staff. It is equipped with a departmental library, a computer lab, and state-of-the-art laboratories to facilitate academic and research endeavors. The department hosts active research groups in (a) Relativity, Cosmology, and Astrophysics, (b) Plasma Physics, and (c) Theoretical Nonlinear Optics. It offers B.Sc. and M.Sc. programs, both following a semester system, with specializations in Astrophysics & Cosmology, Plasma Physics, or Nonlinear Optics, from which students select one. The B.Sc. program admits 50 students annually, while the M.Sc. program admits 20. Nearly all faculty engage in collaborative research within and beyond the university, at national and international levels. The department regularly organizes seminars, conferences, and outreach programs.

HOD: Sri Abhinath Barman, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, APDU (from: 01.12.2024 – till date)

Faculty Details:

Sl. No.	Name	Designation	Contact No	Mail ID	Area of Specialization	Photo
1	Dr. Prasenjit Thakur	Associate Professor	9433489946	prasenjit.thakur1@ gmail.com	Solid State Physics	
2	Sri Kishor Chaudhury	Assistant Professor	9614569062	chaudhurykishor@ gmail.com	Astronomy & Astrophysics, X-ray astronomy.	
3	Sri Abhinath Barman	Assistant Professor	9733484624	barman.abhinath@ gmail.com	Astrophysics	

4	Dr. Sanjib Sarkar	Assistant Professor	7866985187	sanjibsarkarplasma @gmail.com	Plasma physics	
5	Dr. Manirupa Saha	Assistant Professor	7602209030	rupa008@gmail.co m	Theoretical Nonlinear Optics	
6	Dr. Anirban Sarkar	SACT-I	9434501142	anirban.astro9@gm ail.com	Astrophysics	