Format

Name of the Department: **Political Science**

About the Department: The Department of Political Science at Alipurduar University has a rich academic legacy that dates back to the inception of Alipurduar College in 1957. Initially affiliated with the University of Calcutta, the college later came under the jurisdiction of the University of North Bengal. A significant milestone was achieved in 2018 with the enactment of the Alipurduar University Act, which led to the elevation of Alipurduar College to a full-fledged university.

The department launched its Postgraduate (PG) programme in 2021 with an initial intake capacity of 35 students. Owing to growing academic interest and demand, the capacity has since been increased to 43 students.

At present, the department is supported by a dedicated team of three faculty members—two permanent teachers and one State Aided College Teacher (SACT).

HOD: Mr. Bimal Roy, Assistant Professor.

Faculty Details:

Sl. No	Name	Designation	Contact No	Mail ID	Area of Specialization	Photo
•					n	
1	Mr. Bimal Roy	Assistant	99327767	bimalapdu2	Political	
		Professor	59	020@gmail.		&
				com	Theory	

2	Smt. Bobby Lama	Associate Professor	62967151 16	apdlama36 @gmail.co m	Public Administrati on	
3	Mr Bijan Sarkar	SACT (State Aided College Teacher)	94341452 83	<u>bijansathiap</u> <u>dc@gmail.c</u> <u>om</u>	International Relations	